Ireland: Womenís Colleges and Universities National Futsal Cup

IT Carlow retain Women's futsal cup

A second successive Womenís Colleges and Universities National Futsal Cup win was finally claimed by IT Carlow after a memorable decider at Waterford IT Arena.

The 3-1 result in favour of the holders was a hard fought victory earned by two fine second half goals from Clare Kinsella and skipper Rachel Grahamís early opener.

Grahamís sharp finish past Brooke Dunne gave Carlow a dream start but it didnít last for long as Maynooth struck back with an equaliser from Lauren Kealy.

The second period was a tight affair with few real chances until Graham broke quickly to make ground and play in Kinsella who made no mistake with a low drive.

Emma Byrne had a chance for a Maynooth equaliser but put her shot wide and later Barrett did something similar with a close range free.

Carlow sealed the win in the closing stages when Kinsella rounded off a fine performance by notching a third goal and her sixth of the tournament.

Carlow had earlier suffered a comprehensive 2-0 defeat to Maynooth in the first of their five team pool games with in form Amber Barrett grabbing both goals.

However skipper Graham later named Player of the Tournament rallied her side for the second game against IT Sligo and Kinsella smashed home two goals with Rebecca Horgan netted the other as Carlow got back on track for a top two finish and a place in the final with a 3-1 win.

Two goals from Graham and a Becky Cassin neat finish gave Carlow a 3-2 victory over UL to leave them needing a win against UCD in their final pool game to join table toppers Maynooth in the decider.While a draw would send the Belfield side through.

Kinsella had Carlow in front by the break only for UCD to battled back and draw level with a Claire Walsh effort from her own half.

Carlow pressed for the vital winner and it finally arrived when Graham and Kinsella combined for Kinsella to coolly slot the ball past Jennifer Moore.

Meanwhile DCU retained the Plate helped in no small measure by a fine goal scoring display from Aisling Frawley.

The Dublin side defeated UCC 4-1 in the final with Frawley grabbing two of the goals to bring her overall total in the tournament to 11.

Maynooth University: Brook Dunne, Eimear Lafferty, Emma Byrne, Lauren Kealy, Rachel Smith, Ciara Walsh, Rachel Doyle, Amber Barrett, Cliona Owens, Hannah Flatley.

IT Carlow: Lauren Dwyer, Amy Walsh, Rebecca Horgan, Becky Cassin, Rachel Graham, Nicole Redmond, Bronagh Kane, Jennifer Ferrari, Niamh Ni Cheallaigh, Aoife Moloney, Hayley Cox, Clare Kinsella.

Referee: Gerry Behan

FAI Women Futsal Cup Winners

FAI Women Futsal Cup Winners

Posted by Luca Ranocchiari --> luca.ranocchiari@futsalplanet.com


Send this news to a friend:
Your Name:   Friend's Mail:  Send!Send the Mail!

For more details visit also:


Visualize all Polls