Oceanian futsal

New Zealand FA
Courtesy: Inside the games

New Zealand select World University Futsal Championship sides

by Dan Palmer

Sunday, 6 May 2018

New Zealand have selected their men's and women's squads for this year's World University Futsal Championship.

The event will be held in Kazakh city Almaty, the host of the 2017 Winter Universiade, between August 19 and 26.

For the first time, New Zealand Football has picked the sides.

In previous years the winners of the National University Futsal Championship have represented New Zealand at the global event.

Hamish Mitchell, Luke Maynard, Luc Saker, Jordan Ditfort, Thomas McGowan and Benjamin Lapslie have been named in the men's squad.

The women's team features Rivalina Fuimaono, Hannah Kraakman, Britney Lee-Nicholson, Maxine Cooper, Shivy Anthony, Dayna Manak, Ella James and Teejay Lyne-Lewis.

"We are realistic that it will be very challenging for the menís team as the quality of the opposition is very high," said men's coach Marvin Eakins.

"The quality within the squad will give us an opportunity to aim for the first victory by a NZ Futsal team at a world event."

Women's coach Nic Downes added: "The jump from the under-18 sides to the men's and women's teams is a challenge for players not quite ready for senior international futsal.

"The university teams provide exposure for these players in an extremely competitive international tournament to help the talented players make a case for inclusion within the senior teams."

Posted by Luca Ranocchiari --> luca.ranocchiari@futsalplanet.com


Send this news to a friend:
Your Name:   Friend's Mail:  Send!Send the Mail!

For more details visit also:


Visualize all Polls